Part A: Grants to Eligible Metropolitan and Transitional Areas

Part A of the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Extension Act of 2009 provides assistance to Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs) and Transitional Grant Areas (TGAs) that are most severely impacted by the HIV epidemic.


Grants are awarded to the city/county chief elected official (CEO) who designates a lead agency to administer the funds.

Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Part A Grant Recipients

Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs)

  • Atlanta, GA
  • Baltimore, MD
  • Boston, MA
  • Chicago, IL
  • Dallas, TX
  • Detroit, MI
  • Ft. Lauderdale, FL
  • Houston, TX
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • Miami, FL
  • Nassau Suffolk, NY
  • New Haven, CT
  • New Orleans, LA
  • New York, NY
  • Newark, NJ
  • Orlando, FL
  • Philadelphia, PA
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • San Diego, CA
  • San Francisco, CA
  • San Juan, PR
  • Tampa-St. Petersburg, FL
  • Washington, DC
  • West Palm Beach, FL

Transitional Grant Areas (TGAs)

  • Austin, TX
  • Baton Rouge, LA
  • Bergen-Passaic, NJ
  • Charlotte-Gastonia, NC/SC
  • Cleveland-Lorain-Elyria, OH
  • Columbus, OH
  • Denver, CO
  • Ft. Worth, TX
  • Hartford, CT
  • Indianapolis, IN
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • Jersey City, NJ
  • Kansas City, MO
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • Memphis, TN
  • Middlesex-Somerset-Hunterdon, NJ
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN
  • Nashville, TN
  • Norfolk, VA
  • Oakland, CA
  • Orange County, CA
  • Portland, OR
  • Riverside-San Bernardino, CA
  • Sacramento, CA
  • San Antonio, TX
  • San Jose, CA
  • Seattle, WA
  • St. Louis, MO

Part A Awards


The boundaries of EMAs and TGAs are based on the U.S. Census designation of Metropolitan Statistical Areas and may span more than one state.

  • To qualify for EMA status, an area must have reported at least 2,000 AIDS cases in the most recent five years and have a population of at least 50,000.
  • To be eligible for TGA status, an area must have reported 1,000 to 1,999 AIDS cases in the most recent five years and have a population of at least 50,000.

Funding Considerations

Part A grants to EMAs and TGAs include formula and supplemental components as well as Minority AIDS Initiative (MAI) funds, which support services for minority populations.


Part A funds must be used to provide core medical and support services for people living with HIV. Core medical services include the following:

  • AIDS Drug Assistance Program
  • AIDS pharmaceutical assistance
  • Early intervention services
  • Health insurance premium and cost sharing assistance for low-income individuals
  • Home and community-based health services
  • Home health care
  • Hospice services
  • Medical case management, including treatment-adherence services
  • Medical nutrition therapy
  • Mental health services
  • Oral health
  • Outpatient and ambulatory medical care
  • Substance abuse outpatient care

Support services must be linked to medical outcomes and may include outreach, medical transportation, linguistic services, respite care for caregivers of people living with HIV, referrals for health care and other support services, non-medical case management, and substance abuse residential services. Recipients are required to spend at least 75% of their Part A grant funds allocated for services on core medical services and no more than 25% on support services, unless they receive an approved waiver to this requirement.

HIV Health Services Planning Councils

Each EMA Planning Council sets HIV-related service priorities and allocates Part A funds on the basis of the size, demographics, and needs of people living with HIV.

Planning Council membership must reflect the demographics of the local epidemic and include members with specific expertise in health care planning, housing for the homeless, health care for incarcerated populations, and substance abuse and mental health treatment and members who represent other Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Parts and other federal programs. At least 33% of members must be unaligned and receive Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program services.

TGAs are required to implement a comprehensive community planning process, but the Planning Council structure and process, while strongly encouraged, is optional.

Date Last Reviewed:  October 2021