The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
Health Resources and Services Administration
HIV/AIDS Programs

A-Z Index  |  Questions? 

  • Print this
  • Email this

Part A: Grants to Emerging Metropolitan and Transitional Grant Areas

Part A of the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Extension Act of 2009 provides assistance to Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs) and Transitional Grant Areas (TGAs) that are most severely impacted by the HIV epidemic.

Grant Recipients

Grants are awarded to the city/county chief elected official (CEO) who designates a lead agency to administer the funds.


Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Part A Grant Recipients


Atlanta, GA
Baltimore, MD
Boston, MA
Chicago, IL
Dallas, TX
Detroit, MI
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Houston, TX
Los Angeles, CA
Miami, FL
Nassau Suffolk, NY
New Haven, CT
New Orleans, LA
New York, NY
Newark, NJ
Orlando, FL
Philadelphia, PA
Phoenix, AZ
San Diego, CA
San Francisco, CA
San Juan, PR
Tampa-St. Petersburg, FL
Washington, DC
West Palm Beach, FL


Austin, TX
Baton Rouge, LA
Bergen-Passaic, NJ
Charlotte-Gastonia, NC/SC
Cleveland-Lorain-Elyria, OH
Columbus, OH
Denver, CO
Ft. Worth, TX
Hartford, CT
Indianapolis, IN
Jacksonville, FL
Jersey City, NJ
Kansas City, MO
Las Vegas, NV
Memphis, TN
Middlesex-Somerset-Hunterdon, NJ
Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN
Nashville, TN
Norfolk, VA
Oakland, CA
Orange County, CA
Portland, OR
Riverside-San Bernardino, CA
Sacramento, CA
San Antonio, TX
San Jose, CA
Seattle, WA
St. Louis, MO

FY 2016 Part A Grant Awards


The boundaries of EMAs and TGAs are based on the U.S. Census designation of Metropolitan Statistical Areas and may span more than one state.

  • To qualify for EMA status, an area must have reported at least 2,000 AIDS cases in the most recent five years and have a population of at least 50,000.
  • To be eligible for TGA status, an area must have reported 1,000 to 1,999 AIDS cases in the most recent five years and have a population of at least 50,000.

Funding Considerations

Part A grants to EMAs and TGAs include formula and supplemental components as well as Minority AIDS Initiative (MAI) funds, which support services for minority populations.


Part A funds must be used to provide medical and support services for people living with HIV. Core medical services are limited to the following:

  • Outpatient and ambulatory medical care
  • AIDS Drug Assistance Program
  • AIDS pharmaceutical assistance
  • Oral health
  • Early intervention services
  • Health insurance premium and cost sharing assistance for low-income individuals
  • Medical nutrition therapy
  • Hospice services
  • Home and community-based health services
  • Mental health services
  • Substance abuse outpatient care
  • Home health care
  • Medical case management, including treatment-adherence services

Support services must be linked to medical outcomes and may include outreach, medical transportation, linguistic services, respite care for caregivers of people living with HIV, referrals for health care and other support services, non-medical case management, and substance abuse residential services. Grant recipients are required to spend at least 75 percent of their Part A grant funds allocated for services on core medical services and no more than 25 percent on support services, unless they receive an approved waiver to this requirement.

HIV Health Services Planning Councils

Each EMA Planning Council sets HIV-related service priorities and allocates Part A funds on the basis of the size, demographics, and needs of people living with HIV.

Planning Council membership must reflect the demographics of the local epidemic and include members with specific expertise in health care planning, housing for the homeless, health care for incarcerated populations, and substance abuse and mental health treatment and members who represent other Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Parts and other federal programs. At least 33 percent of members must be Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program service utilizers.

TGAs are required to implement a community planning process, but the Planning Council structure and process  is optional.